The Polpharma Scientific Foundation awarded authors of the best Master’s Theses in medical schools’ faculties of Pharmacy in the academic year 2014/2015.

The 2014/2015 winners of the Master’s Thesis in Faculties of Pharmacy National Competition, organised for over 40 years by the Polish Pharmaceutical Society,  have been announced. Students deem the competition very prestigious and rooted in tradition, hence even to be shortlisted finalists is considered a great distinction. In accordance with its mission, the Polpharma Scientific Foundation supports the development of pharmaceutical sciences in many ways, also by rewarding authors of the best Master’s Theses written in faculties of Pharmacy in medical schools. We have awarded prizes to the winners for the tenth time already.

The competition final was held on 30 March 2016 in the Warsaw seat of the Polish Pharmaceutical Society. Ten Pharmacy graduates from all over Poland competed for the title of the best Master’s Thesis author.

Dariusz Wawrzyniak received the first-degree award for his thesis entitled “The Effect of Nucleic Acids Derivatives on the Growth of Human Cells”, written at the Department of RNA Biology of the Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry, Polish Academy of Sciences in Poznań, under the supervision of Professor Lucjusz Zaprutko and under the guidance of Professor Jan Barciszewski of Poznań University of Medical Science.

Dawid Gawliński received the second-degree award for his thesis entitled “The Effects of Acute or Repeated Administration of Tianeptine on the Level of Endocannabinoids and N-Acylethanolamines in Selected Rat Brain Structures”, written at the Chair of Toxicology of the JU CM in Krakow under the supervision of Professor Małgorzata Filip, PhD. 

Dominika Krenczkowska received the third-degree award for her thesis “Ex- vivo study of the skin barrier for the cyclic polisiloxanes”, written at the Chair and Department for Physical Chemistry of the Medical University of Gdańsk, under the supervision of Krystyna Pieńkowska, PhD.